The Law of Sowing and Reaping

For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. (Galatians 6:8 NASB 1995)

Just as there are two types of sowing, there are two kinds of reaping. One sort of sowing leads to death, and the other to eternal life.

As a teacher, I once took a course to add driver’s education to my teaching certificate. We were taught never to look directly over your right or left fender as it caused over-correction. Instead, we were instructed to focus down the road, eliminating weaving back and forth. Keeping our eyes on our final destination can benefit our spiritual walk.

The problem in applying our scriptural reference is that we often view it from a worldly perspective rather than an eternal one. Have you ever noticed that you can give love and receive hate in this world? You can give, and people only continue to take, and you can forgive, and the people you have forgiven continue to showcase your sins. Sowing and reaping do not always happen in real time but in God’s time. Reaping does sometimes occur in this world, but often it may not be until you are on the other side of glory.

The next verse, Galatians 6:9 NASB 1995, Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary,” gives us a warning. Unfortunately, when we view sowing and reaping as cause and effect, we lose heart and become tired of doing good if reaping does not come immediately. We then start sowing to the flesh, which is always a downward trajectory.

Some of you reading this may be weary in well doing; been there, done that. It is always too soon to quit. God has promised you that in “due time,” you will receive your reward. Some will reap in this world, others in the next, but it will make it even more glorious if it is the next.

The image is used with permission by Microsoft.


Ken Barnes is the author of “Broken Vessels,” published in February 2021, and “The Chicken Farm and Other Sacred Places,” published by YWAM Publishing in 2011.

Ken’s Website—
Ken blogs at

Leave a Reply